How to Disable Read Receipts in WhatsApp and Facebook Messenger

Share this

disable Read Receipts WhatsApp Facebook Messenger

WhatsApp and Facebook Messenger are our favorite apps for instant messaging. They will deliver your message to the recipient at the very next moment and let you know when it’s read by the other party. It is a useful feature and that’s one of the main reasons why we love instant messaging apps. But at the same time, some people are against to it and want to deny read receipts to the sender. They may be afraid of losing privacy or interested in hiding their online presence.

How can you deny read receipts in instant messaging apps like WhatsApp and Facebook Messenger?

WhatsApp

Most of us are familiar with WhatsApp features and settings. If read receipt is active, it will add two blue color tick marks next to your sent messages as soon as the recipient viewed the content. The feature is based on our traditional give and take principle. It means if you’re denying receipts from your side, won’t get it from other parties too.

Open WhatsApp and tap three dots from the top right corner of the screen. Choose Settings.

disable Read Receipts WhatsApp Facebook Messenger

 

Open Account from the Settings screen and Privacy. Scroll down to the bottom to locate Messaging > Read receipts. Uncheck the box to disable the feature.

That’s it!

Facebook Messenger

Open your desired chat in Facebook Messenger. After reading the message, tap gear button on the right side of the screen (next to the recipient’s name).

disable Read Receipts WhatsApp Facebook Messenger

A small box will open with options to archive, delete conversation and report spam or block the user. Choose Mark as Unread from them.

That’s it!

Facebook will inform another party that you have not yet read the last message sent by him/her.

If the above method is not working for you, install any of these Google Chrome extensions to disable read receipts on Facebook Messenger.

  1. Unseen for Facebook
  2. Facebook Chat Privacy

Both of them are easy to use and allow you to remove seen by time from your Messenger conversation.

 


Share this