Try Wrike: fast, easy, and efficient project collaboration software

How to Delete Your Facebook Account (Step by Step Guide)

Spread the love

Delete Facebook Account

Facebook is not just a website like others. It is a social network where you can find new friends, strengthen existing relationships, contact each other, sell products and boost the business. We use the social site for different purposes. But at some point of time, as a result of certain unfortunate events, you may decide to take a break from Facebook. Is it possible?

In this quick guide, we’ll tell you how.

Facebook gives you two options. Either you can deactivate the account or delete it permanently. What may’be your choice, it is better to start with a backup. Download a copy of your Facebook data before proceeding further.

Download your Facebook data

Sign into your Facebook account first.

Click the drop-down arrow appears top right corner of the screen and choose Settings.

Delete Facebook Account

Click Download a copy option, under General settings. A new page will open where you can choose what kind of information to be included in your Facebook data. Tap Create File button to begin the process. It may take time and Facebook will send you an email when it’s completed. Once it’s ready and you downloaded the file, go to the next step.

Deactivating Facebook account

Deactivation is a temporary process to put your Facebook activity on hold. During the period, your profile picture will be disabled and removes your name and photos from most things you’ve shared. But your details will still appear in the friend list of others and messages you’ve sent.

Visit Settings > General and click Edit link that appears next to the “Manage account” option.

Delete Facebook Account

The link will be expanded with legacy contact, annual reminder and deactivate account options. Click the “Deactivate Your Account” option which will appear in blue color.

Facebook will confirm your request and mention a reason why you are leaving the social network. Tap the Deactivate button to complete the request.

Deactivation is just like freezing your account and you can reactivate it anytime by logging back into Facebook or when you use the Facebook account to log in somewhere else.

Deleting Facebook account

Deletion will remove all your contents including photos, videos, status updates and others except the messages you have sent. Friends can still read your messages even after you delete the account.

Visit Delete Account¬†page and request to delete your account.¬†Keep in mind that you won’t be able to reactivate your account or retrieve anything you’ve added in any case. The deletion process will start after 14 days of submitting the request. During this time, your account will be in a deactivated state and you can cancel the account deletion request. It may take up to 90 days to finish the process. Facebook will remove all your information from its servers and no one can access them thereafter.

Don’t want to delete your Facebook account? If so, these contents could be useful for you:


Spread the love